



For Immediate Release: 5/1/2024

Contact: Claudia Pitarque Senior Manager, Marketing & Communications (202) 499-5841 cpitarque@eba-net.org

## Conor B. Ward Elected President of the Energy Bar Association at Sold Out Annual Meeting

Washington, DC. - The members of the Energy Bar Association (EBA) elected Conor B. Ward of WEC Energies as the new President of the Board of Directors for the 2024-2025 bar year, as well as a full slate of officers and directors. The election took place at EBA's 2024 Annual Meeting, held in Washington, DC on April 26, 2024. This event had 500+ energy law and policy professionals in attendance.

The membership elected the following individuals as Board officers to serve three-year terms: Floyd R. Self of Berger Singerman LLP as President-Elect; Nicholas Pascale of National Rural Electric Cooperative Association as Vice President; Monique Watson of Vinson & Elkins as Secretary; Meredith Berger Chambers of EDP Renewables as Assistant Secretary; Daniel Frank of Eversheds Sutherland LLP as Treasurer, and Holly Rachel Smith of Invenergy as Assistant Treasurer.

"I am grateful to the EBA membership and nominating committee for the opportunity to serve as President," said Ward. "EBA membership has been an invaluable asset throughout my career. I look forward to working with our volunteers, board and staff to ensure that EBA continues to provide premier educational content and networking opportunities for professionals in the energy industry.

In addition to board officers, the EBA elected five new directors including Karen Bruni of Steptoe; Kelli Cole of Virginia State Corporation Commission; Michael Kessler of Midcontinent Independent System Operator; Jonathan Namazi of Davis Wright Tremaine; and Mustafa Ostrander of Rock Creek Energy Group LLP.

In addition to electing new board leadership, the EBA membership paused to recognize two EBA members who have made significant contributions to the association and to the energy law and policy community.

This year, the EBA recognized Adrienne Clair with the 2024 *Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award*. This award is given to an EBA Member who has shown unequivocal support of EBA's

Diversity & Inclusion program with sustained efforts toward the active promotion of diversity and inclusion within the Association and the broader legal community.

The EBA also recognized Freddi L. Greenberg with the 2024 *Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award*, which honors exemplary long-term service, or one or more particularly significant examples of service, by an EBA member to one or more of the EBA Chapters. Freddi has been an EBA member for more than forty years and was instrumental in the formation of the EBA's Midwest Chapter. The award was accepted on her behalf by Michael Kessler, past president of the Midwest Chapter who noted that "[Freddi] frequently speaks about how much the EBA has given her in terms of professional development, and most importantly, she speaks about her colleagues' congeniality and how much she appreciates the professionalism of the members. It is Freddi's willingness to share and give back to the Midwest Chapter year after year that makes her an exemplary member that deserves recognition."

## ###

The Energy Bar Association is an international, non-profit association of attorneys, non-attorney professionals, and students active in all areas of energy law. The EBA promotes the professional excellence and ethical integrity of its members in the practice, administration, and development of energy laws, regulations and policies. The EBA provides superior educational programming, networking opportunities, and information resources.