Paul E. Nordstrom Service Award                     

This Award was created in memory of Paul Nordstrom, a past President of the Energy Bar Association (“EBA”) and motivating force in the organization of the Charitable Foundation of the EBA (“CFEBA”).  The first award was given to Paul posthumously.  It is an award to honor and to recognize exemplary long-term service or a particularly significant example of public service by a current or past member to the community through the EBA, the CFEBA, or the Foundation of the Energy Law Journal.  Exemplary community service outside of these organizations may also be considered as a criterion for the Award.  Nominations are accepted each year by the Nominating committee and generally during the summer. 

Recipients of the award include:

  • Michael Stosser, 2017 
  • Robert S. Fleishman, 2016
  • A. Karen Hill, 2015
  • Paul B. Mohler, 2014
  • William Mogel, 2013
  • Freddi L. Greenberg, 2012
  • Richard Meyer, 2011
  • Sheila S. Hollis, 2010

State Regulatory Practitioner Award

The award recognizes innovation and superior advocacy by members of the state utility regulatory bar. The award is consistent with the committee's goal to be a resource to lawyers who focus their practice on state energy regulatory matters. The award will be presented at EBA's Mid-Year meeting.  Nominees should satisfy the following criteria:

  • State representation is a predominant part of the nominee's total practice;
  • The nominee's state practice and participation in the state energy regulatory process has produced significant results or recognition;
  • The nominee's state practice reflects enhanced professional competence of the practice of energy law; and
  • The nominee must be a member of the EBA.

Nomination submissions are collected each year during the summer and should be directed to the Chair of the State Commission Practice and Regulation Committee.

Recipients of the award include:

  • Sandra Mattavous-Frye, 2016
  • Stephen H. Watts, II 2015
  • Charles Gray, 2014
  • Jeff Genzer, 2013
  • Honorable Sonny Popowsky, recently retired Consumer Advocate for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 2012
  • Ben Stone
  • James Van Nostrand


EBA President's Award

The EBA President's Award is given occasionally to an individual that has made an extraordinary contribution to the porfession or the development of energy law over a long career.  Previous recpients are listed below:

2017            Robert Nordhaus

2010            Richard D. Cudahy (Judge)
2008            Richard J. Pierce, Jr.
2006            Senator Pete V. Domenici
2004           Charles B. Curtis
2002           Stephen F. Williams (Judge)
2001           Congressman John D. Dingell